Dickson-based private investigator Renee Brewer knew from the first day she got her PI license that she wanted to make a positive difference in the lives of the citizens of Tennessee, but there’s no way she would have known she would become recognized as a hero. But isn’t that what exactly happened in 2017 when she located a child who had been missing for 10 days?<!- mfunc feat_school ->
Saving lives and reuniting families isn’t exactly all in a day’s work for PIs, but you would be hard-pressed to come up with any other profession outside of law enforcement and emergency services that would even present an opportunity to create a profound impact by doing important life-changing jobs like this. Along with the freedom, this line of work gives you a chance to crack cases and solve crimes that have a real impact on people’s lives is a big part of the appeal of a career in private investigations.
And Brewer is far from alone. According to the Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development, by 2021 the number of licensed PIs in the state is expected to grow to 640. This means that whether you want to focus your career on finding missing persons or investigating fraud, by getting your own agency up and running or finding work with an established firm, you can bet there’ll be opportunities right here in Tennessee.
|Meet the Requirements to Obtain a License in Tennessee|
|Obtain the Necessary Education and Training in Tennessee|
|Submit your Tennessee Application|
|Take the Tennessee Examination|
|Start Work as a Private Investigator in Tennessee|
So before we dive into how to become a private investigator in Tennessee, let’s dig deeper into what steps are required to become eligible and qualified.
Private investigators in Tennessee are licensed by the Department of Commerce and Insurance (TCDI), Private Investigation, and Polygraph Commission. The Commission defines a private investigator as someone who accepts employment or engages in the business to furnish or obtain information having to do with one or more of the following:
- Wrongdoings, crimes, or threats against the U.S. or any state or territory
- The activity, acts, affiliations, associations, business, conduct, credibility, efficiency, habits, honesty, identity, knowledge, loyalty, occupation, reputations, transactions, trustworthiness, or whereabouts of any person
- The disposition, location, or recovery of stolen or lost property
- The responsibility or cause of accidents, damages, fires, injuries, or losses to people or property
- The securing of evidence to be used before any official body
Step 1. Meet the Requirements to Obtain a License in Tennessee
You must meet several requirements to be able to apply for a license to be a private investigator in Tennessee. They include the following:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Be a U.S. citizen or resident alien
- Not have been declared incompetent because of mental disease or defect (unless you have subsequently been declared competent)
- License your own company or be affiliated with a licensed PI company in the state
- Be of good moral character
- Not suffer from narcotics addiction or dependence or habitual drunkenness
- Not have practiced deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation
Step 2. Obtain the Necessary Education and Training in Tennessee
To be a top-notch investigator requires superb analytical skills. Obtaining formal education in criminal justice is one way to hone these abilities. You can obtain an associate’s or bachelor’s degree from schools that are found in several cities in the state, including Chattanooga, Clarksville, Memphis, Murfreesboro, and Nashville. In addition, you can also obtain a criminal justice degree from one of the online schools that offer such options.<!- mfunc search_btn -> <!- /mfunc search_btn ->
Although the state of Tennessee does not specify any particular degree to become a licensed PI, you would benefit from obtaining training in this field. This will help you be a desirable candidate and is particularly important since it is common for new PIs to obtain their license as an employee of an agency.
Step 3. Submit Your Tennessee Application
Once you are satisfied with your skill level, you need to submit your application to the state of Tennessee. You will need to provide the following items:
- Application: $150
- Fingerprint processing: $60
- License: $100
- Fingerprint cards (3 sets) or a photocopy of your electronic submission receipt
- Photographs (2 color passport-style)
- Letter of endorsement/affiliation from a Private Investigation Company
- Information on criminal arrests, charges, and convictions
You can also apply as an Apprentice. You will need to have a written notice from the owner or qualifying agent of a licensed company that he or she intends to sponsor you. This period is limited to six months, and you can only apply once.
Step 4. Take the Tennessee Examination
After you have submitted your application, you will have to take the state’s examination. This two-hour exam has 50 questions that are drawn from the following:
- Tennessee Private Investigator Laws & Rules online (60%)
- The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Private Investigating (40%)
You will need to study ahead of time school-specific since you are not allowed to bring any study materials into the exam.
As of April 2013, this exam is temporarily unavailable while the Commission is working to get a new proctor to conduct them.
Step 5. Start Work as a Private Investigator in Tennessee
Once you have passed the exam, the Commission will contact you about your license and the license fee. Processing time averages three to four months. Now that you know how to become a private investigator in Tennessee, get your license done and you are all set to start your work. The license that you are granted is good for two years.
When you go to renew your license, you will need to have completed twelve hours of continuing education. You should check with the Commission to see what is acceptable for this training.
Private Investigator Salary Information for Tennessee*
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), PIs in Tennessee earned an annual average salary of $58,810 as of May 2020– that’s about $5,000 more than the state median average. And once you’ve earned equal parts respect and success, you’ll be among the top 10% here who earn $101,970 or more.
To earn a PI license in Tennessee, you’ll need to be at least 21 years old, pass an exam, and either be affiliated with a licensed private investigator firm in the state or be prepared to license your own
Private Investigator Salaries in Nashville and Memphis
PIs in both the Nashville and Memphis MSAs earn a median salary that’s close to the state average and the national average of $50,510.<!- mfunc search_btn -> <!- /mfunc search_btn ->
The following BLS stats reveal the median-top 10% salary range for PIs working in Tennessee’s major metro areas of Nashville and Memphis:
- Nashville: $58,020 (approximately 370 licensed PIs)
- Memphis: $52,350 (approximately 110 licensed PIs)
*May 2020 US Bureau of Labor Statistics Salary and Job Market Figures for Private Detectives and Investigators reflect state data, not school-specific information. Conditions in your area may vary. Data accessed September 2021.
<!- mfunc feat_school ->